September is National Yoga Month….and Why Movement is Important


Only through movement can fear be dissolved.

 

Wow, it’s been almost a month since my last post. Lots has happened.  I had the chance to visit my son, Michel, who is a white water raft guide on the Pigeon River in Tennessee, and yes, white water anything is exhilarating.  To top it off, I did zip lining 120 feet up and between the altitude, the speed and the view, well talk about Zen moments. Unfortunately, when we travel too far outside the grid, internet connection isn’t possible so thus my silence.

The most important things I learned from this trip is how imperative it is for us to go out and commune with nature. Part of communing with nature includes walking, swimming, paddling, and yoga.  All this intimately ties in the the title of my post in that the focus of yoga is  to unify, unite and integrate. It is so vital that we take time out in our day to go outside and take in all that surrounds us.  We spend so many hours of our day on the computer, watching television or movies, and often in mind-numbing activities.  This month change your routine.  Take a brief walk during lunch (yes, that means some of your will have to pull yourselves away from your desk and your computer).  Take another brief walk after dinner.  Get yourself out there and move and breathe.

This leads me to the second topic of this week’s blog and here I am going to post a link to my teacher and friend, Shiva Rea’s, video about the importance of movement (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i31gGh9KcAo).  As Shiva points out, fear does not move.  Want to get rid of fear start moving, dancing, running, walking. stetching, twisting.  Movement creates a cascade of serotonin. You WILL feel better and won’t have the side effects of antidepressants.  So many times in my life I have been dragging around barely having the energy to get up and go outside.  I have literally had to force myself to change clothes and put on my sneakers or get on the mat. However. the end result has always been the same. I feel better, often break out into a sweat and reap the benefits of detoxing at the same time.

So here is what I propose: Starting today, take a 15 minute walk. Walk your dog, check out what’s blooming in your neighborhood or see how many edible plants are growing in your backyard.  Take you mat outside, put it on your lawn and stretch, breathe, twist and thank your Higher Power for the body you have been given and its ability to move.  Start the Yoga New Year with a different way to connect with all that surrounds you.

Many blessings…Namaste!

About Yoganesha

I am a yogini, meaning I integrate yoga into as many aspects of my life as possible. I started taking yoga classes back in the late 70s and in 2000 I became a certified Kriya yoga instructor. Since then I have been fortunate to have studied with yoga masters such as Shiva Rea, Ana Forest, and Sean Corn. One thing is for sure, yoga is one of those things that makes our life better. Namaste!
This entry was posted in Blogs. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

