What’s for Breakfast??


We all have heard this time and again…breakfast is the most important meal of the day. Why? Well, consider the word, break fast”.  Essentially, it is the opportunity you are giving your body to nourish and fuel itself after a number of hours without food. But the question is how do we do this and what foods will we use to break the fast?

Like many of my readers, I’ve been there too. Wake up late, somewhat tired, no time to cook anything, and if I’m late enough I’ll skip it altogether until I get to the office and then have a couple of cups of coffee and hope that someone brought donuts or bagels.  Now, I am not a medical doctor, but it doesn’t take a scientist to figure out that you are shocking your system. After going through the night without food or water, the first thing that greets our system is an acidic liquid devoid of any nutritional properties. Sounds yummy, huh?  After that we may add a bagel (dense carb) topped with fat (cream cheese).  And we wonder why we are tired, rundown and overweight.  

I don’t pretend to be a dietician, but I can propose a better alternative. When you get up, have a glass of water. Yes, that’s right. Not orange juice, coffee, or much less a diet soda. Plain old water. Why? Because in the majority of the cases you are dehydrated.  Water not only hydrates you but also lubricates your bowels to help you eliminate last nights meal. (By the way, that AM sluggishness may also have to do with what you ate last night.)

Next, and I swear this doesn’t take more than 5 minutes. Throw some greens, berries, a banana, and some protein powder into your blender. For liquid use water. In addition, you can get creative and add chocolate or carob, peanut butter, etc.  Make a good size blender, pour and drink.  You can also take some with you to drink throughout the morning.  But wait you may say, I need something warm in the morning especially in the winter. OK.  What about green tea?  Today, green tea flavors are endless. And if you just must have that cup of joe (I’ll be honest I do love coffee), have a cup after but not before; easing your body gently into the day instead of shock treatment.  Your body will thank you for it in so many ways.  I am including a Green smoothie recipe for you to try. 

This simple Green Smoothie is a great way to incorporate more fruits and vegetables into your diet. I promise it is delicious and nutritious!

ingredients:

1 large orange, peeled and segmented
1/2 of a large banana, cut into chunks
6 large strawberries
2 cups spinach
1/3 cup plain Greek yogurt (I use Chobani 0%)
1 cup ice

directions:

1. Put all of the ingredients in a blender and puree until smooth. Pour into glasses and serve.

Note-I use our Blendtec Blender which is a very powerful machine. Make sure you use a powerful blender that will puree the orange, spinach, ice, etc. I like to store one serving of the smoothie in the freezer for later. Pour in an air-tight container and freeze. Make sure you take the smoothie out of the freezer about 30 minutes before you want to drink it. You can also store the smoothie in the refrigerator.

Source:http://www.twopeasandtheirpod.com/green-smoothie/

And remember to smile as this frames your mood for the rest of your day.

Namaste!

About Yoganesha

I am a yogini, meaning I integrate yoga into as many aspects of my life as possible. I started taking yoga classes back in the late 70s and in 2000 I became a certified Kriya yoga instructor. Since then I have been fortunate to have studied with yoga masters such as Shiva Rea, Ana Forest, and Sean Corn. One thing is for sure, yoga is one of those things that makes our life better. Namaste!
This entry was posted in Blogs. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

